top of page

About Washington County

Welcome to the official website of Washington County, Nebraska. Our mission is to provide easy access to county information for our residents and visitors. This is the place where you can find all the details about our county services, elected officials, board meeting calendar, and much more. Our aim is to empower our community with the right knowledge and tools to make informed decisions. We are committed to serving our community with integrity, accountability, and passion. We value your feedback and suggestions to improve our services.

Washington County Courthouse, Blair, Nebraska

Our Vision


Square Miles


Elected Officials


County Residents


Public Schools

Other Info

Facts & Figures


County Seat: Blair


  • Arlington - 1,243

  • Blair - 7,990

  • Fort Calhoun - 908

  • Herman - 268

  • Kennard - 361

  • Washington - 150

  • Public Schools

    • Arlington Public School (Arlington)

    • Blair Community School (Blair)

    • Fort Calhoun Community School (Fort Calhoun)

  • Private Schools

    • Immanuel Lutheran Elementary School (Hooper)

    • St. Paul's Lutheran Elementary School (Arlington)

At Washington County, we believe in a vision of a community that is prosperous, safe, and inclusive. To achieve this vision, we offer a wide range of county services to our residents, including public safety, environmental services, public works, and much more. We also have elected officials who are dedicated to serving our community's needs. Our aim is to provide top-quality services to our county residents. Join us in making Washington County a great place to live and work.

The Washington County Courthouse is located at 1555 Colfax Street in Blair, Nebraska. The Courthouse is open 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. All County Offices are located in the Courthouse unless otherwise noted. Mailing addresses for individual offices are listed on the Offices tab above.

The State Drivers License Examiners Office at is open at the Courthouse on Mondays only from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.


The Nebraska Department of Education's Vocational Rehabilitation Office can be reached at

The Washington County East Annex, located at 597 Grant Street, is the location of the following offices: Extension Office and State Probation. The East Annex is open Monday to Friday 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.


Washington County is located in eastern Nebraska on the Missouri River.  It was explored as early as 1739 by Paul and Pierre Malleet, who were on a trapping expedition to Canada.  In 1804, Lewis and Clark reported the establishment of the new United States government to a council of Indian chiefs near the present site of Fort Calhoun.  As a result of this Council, Fort Atkinson was established in 1819 and served as a key midwestern outpost until its abandonment in 1827.

The first permanent settlement in Washington County was made in 1854.  In that same year, the county was organized as one of the eight original counties proclaimed by acting Governor Thomas B. Cuming.  The county seat has been located in three different towns: Fort Calhoun, DeSoto, and finally at Blair, its present site since 1869.

For more information on Washington County, please visit the ​Washington County Museum.

Other Sites of Interest

bottom of page